Date Admitted:  1788 (11th)
Capital:  Albany
Largest City:  New York City
Population:  18,137,226
State Song:  "I Love New York"
State Bird:  Bluebird
State Tree:  Sugar Maple
State Flower:  Rose
Nickname:  The Empire State
State Constitution:  New York Constitution
Official State Web Page:  New York
Department of Education:  Schools
Electronic Library:  New York

View County Map
View County Profiles

Links of Interest:

News and Media
   Empire State Report
   Greenwich Village Gazette
   New York Magazine
   Spark Magazine
   New York Press Association

Travel and Tourism
   Online Travel Guide for 
      Upstate New York
   The Vacation Experience
   Welcome to New York State
   Western New York Travel Guide
   New York State Thruway
   NY State Roads
   Roads of Metro New York
   Central New York
   UpState New York
   Our Home Town
   Fall Foliage in Upstate
      New York

History and Community
   New York Council for 
      the Humanities
   New York State Council
      on the Arts
   New York State Archives
   New York State History
   Triangle Strike and Fire
   Western New York Railroad
   New York State 
      and the Civil War


            Adopted in 1901

Elected Officials 
        George Pataki
        Alfonse D'Amato
        Daniel Patrick Moynihan
        Michael Forbes -- 1st District 
        Rick Lazio -- 2nd District 
        Peter King -- 3rd District 
        Carolyn McCarthy -- 4th District 
        Gary Ackerman -- 5th District
        Gregory Meeks -- 6th District
        Thomas Manton -- 7th District
        Jerrold Nadler -- 8th District
        Charles Schumer -- 9th District
        Edolphus Towns -- 10th District
        Major Owens -- 11th District
        Nydia Velazquez -- 12th District
        Vito Fossella -- 13th District
        Carolyn Maloney -- 14th District
        Charles Rangel -- 15th District
        Jose Serrano -- 16th District
        Eliot Engel -- 17th District
        Nita Lowey -- 18th District
        Sue Kelly -- 19th District
        Benjamin Gilman -- 20th District
        Michael McNulty -- 21st District
        Gerald Solomon -- 22nd Dictrict
        Sherwood Boehlert -- 23rd District
        John McHugh -- 24th District
        James Walsh -- 25th District
        Maurice Hinchey -- 26th District
        Bill Paxon -- 27th District
        Louise Slaughter --28th District
        John LaFalce -- 29th District
        Jack Quinn -- 30th District
        Amo Houghton -- 31st District