"State Sovereignty, National Union"

Date Admitted:  1818 (21st) 
Capital:  Springfield 
Largest City:  Chicago 
Population:  11,895,849 
State Song:  "Illinois" 
State Bird:  Cardinal 
State Tree:  White Oak 
State Flower: Violet 
Nickname:  Land of Lincoln 
                    The Prairie State 
State Constitution:  Adopted in 1970 
Official State Web Page:  Illinois 
Department of Education:  Schools 
Electronic Library:  Illinois 

View County Map 
View County Profiles 

Links of Interest: 

News and Media 
   Copley Net 
   Chicago Reporter Magazine 
   Illinois Entertainer 
   Springfield Magazine 
   Illinois State Climatologist Office 

Travel and Tourism 
   Central Illinois Tourism Guide 
   Illinois Bureau Of Tourism 
   Southern Illinois Tourism 
      Council Travel Guide 
   Spoon River Drive 
   Welcome, Traveler 
   Rich's Illinois Highways Page 
   Destination Illinois:  
      Sites of the Week 
   Land of Lincoln WebRing 

History and Community 
   Illinois ArmWrestling Page 
   At Home in the Heartland 
   Illinois History Resource Page 
   Illinois State Archives 
   Illinois' Revolutionary Ancestors 
   Southern Illinois History Page 
   Illinois in the Civil War 
   ParkLands Foundation 
   Illinois Entertainer 


            Adopted in 1915 

Elected Officials  
        Jim Edgar 
        Richard Durbin 
        Carol Moseley-Braun 
        Bobby Rush--1st District  
        Jesse Jackson, Jr.--2nd District  
        William Lipinski--3rd District  
        Luis Gutierrez--4th District  
        Rod Blagojevich--5th District 
        Henry Hyde--6th District 
        Danny Davis--7th District 
        Philip Crane--8th District 
        Sidney Yates--9th District 
        John Edward Porter--10th District 
        Jerry Weller--11th District 
        Jerry Costello--12th District 
        Harris Fawell--13th District 
        J. Dennis Hastert--14th District 
        Thomas Ewing--15th District 
        Donald Manzullo--16th District 
        Lane Evans--17th District 
        Ray LaHood--18th District 
        Glenn Poshard--19th District 
        John Shimkus--20th District