"In God We Trust"

Date Admitted:  1845 (27th) 
Capital:  Tallahassee 
Largest City:  Jacksonville  
Population:  14,653,945 
State Song:  "The Swanee River" 
State Bird:  Mockingbird 
State Tree:  Sabal Palmettto 
State Flower: Orange Blossom 
Nickname:  The Sunshine State 
                    The Peninsula State 
State Constitution:  Adopted in 1885 
Official State Web Page:  Florida 
Department of Education:  Schools 
Electronic Library:  Florida 

View County Map 
View County Profiles 

Links of Interest: 

News and Media 
   Florida Link to The News 
   Digital Florida 
   Entertainment News and Views 
   Florida Business Journal 
   Halifax Magazine 
   XS Online 
   Florida Forecasts and  

Travel and Tourism 
   Florida Association of Convention 
      and Visitors Bureaus 
   All-Florida Visitor's Guide 
   Beach Directory 
   Come To The Sun 
   Everglades and 10,000 Islands 
   Florida Traveler 
   Informed Tourist's Guide to 
      Orlando and Central Florida 
   Visit Florida 
   Florida Traveler Information 
   All Florida Directory 

History and Community 
   Florida Bureau of Archaeological 
   Archaic Period of Florida 
   Florida Historical Context Series 
   Florida Humanities Council 
   Florida History Internet Center 
   Museum of Florida History 
   Florida State Archives Photographic 
   Rosewood Report 
   Florida Facts and History 


            Adopted in 1899 

Elected Officials  
        Lawton Chiles 
        Bob Graham 
        Connie Mack 
        Joe Scarborough --1st District  
        Allen Boyd --2nd District 
        Corrine Brown --3rd District  
        Tillie Fowler --4th District  
        Karen Thurman --5th District 
        Cliff Stearns --6th District 
        John Mica --7th District 
        Bill McCollum -- 8th District 
        Michael Bilirakis -- 9th District 
        C.W. Bill Young -- 10th District 
        Jim Davis -- 11th District 
        Charles Canady -- 12th District 
        Dan Miller -- 13th District 
        Porter Goss -- 14th District 
        Dave Weldon -- 15th District 
        Mark Foley -- 16th District 
        Carrie Meek -- 17th District 
        Ileana Ros-Lehtinen-- 18th District 
        Robert Wexler-- 19th District 
        Peter Deutsch -- 20th District 
        Lincoln Diaz-Balart--21st District 
        E. Clay Shaw, Jr.-- 22nd District 
        Alcee Hastings -- 23rd District