Commission Member States Secretariat Details
Okavango River Basin Commission (Okacom) Botswana, Namibia, Angola No joint secretariat
Okacom meets once or twice per year, the location of the meetings rotates
  • Founded in 1991 as bilateral commission between Botswana and Namibia
  • Angola member since 1994
  • Aims:  protection of the Okavango River especiall the river delta in North Botswana, fair water distribution between member states


World Resources Institute Database:
Links to .pdf files mapped by WRI

           Map 2: Freshwater Fish Species and Endemism

 Map 3: Endemic Bird Areas
 Map 4: Aridity
 Map 5: Population Density
 Map 6: Water Availability
 Map 7: Modified Landscape (Cropland and Developed Areas)
 Map 8: Cropland Irrigation
 Map 9: Existing and Proposed Major Dams
 Map 10: Remaining Original Forest Cover
 Map 11: Extent of Original Forest Cover Lost
 Map 12: Area Affected by Water Erosion
 Map 13: Urban Population Growth (1995-2000)
 Map 14: Tropical Deforestation (1980-1990)
 Map 15: Protected Areas

Original maps made using the World Resources Institute Database and ArcView GIS, version 3.1, with Spatial Analyst Extension, X-Tools, 3-D Analyst Extension.