Linda Gregerson  





and criticism












2015-present      Chancellor, Academy of American Poets

2014-present      Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

2008-present      Caroline Walker Bynum Distinguished University Professor of English, University of Michigan

2011                  Doctor of Humane Letters, Honorary Degree, Illinois Wesleyan University

2011                  Michigan Humanities Award

2010                  Pushcart Prize (Poetry)

2010                  Visiting Mackey Chair, Beloit College

2009                  Bogliasco Fellowship, Liguria Study Center for the Arts and Humanities, Bogliasco, Italy

2008-10             Mellon Foundation Grant, Summer Dissertation Seminars in the Humanities

2008                  Creative Arts Residency, Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Center, Bellagio, Italy

2008                  Pushcart Prize (Poetry)

2007                  Finalist, National Book Award in Poetry

2007                  Pushcart Prize (Poetry)

2006                  Visiting Hurst Professor, Washington University

2004-05             John Rich Professor, Institute for the Humanities, University of Michigan

2003-08             Frederick G. L. Huetwell Professorship, College of Literature, Science and the Arts, University of Michigan

2003                  Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award for Waterborne

2003                  University Press Book Award (University of Michigan Press)

2003                  Pushcart Prize (Poetry)

2003                  Elliston Poet-in-Residence, University of Cincinnati

2002-06             Senior Fellow, Michigan Society of Fellows

2002                  Academy Award in Literature, American Academy of Arts and Letters

2001-02             Guggenheim Fellowship (awarded 2000)

2000                  Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, University of Michigan

2000                  Michigan Humanities Award

1997                  Finalist, Lenore Marshall Prize (for the best book of poetry published in the  United States during the previous calendar year), Academy of American Poets

1997                  Finalist, The Poets Prize (for the best book of poetry published in the United States during the previous calendar year)

1996-97             A. Bartlett Giamatti Faculty Fellow, Institute for the Humanities, University of Michigan

1996                  Faculty Recognition Award, University of Michigan

1994                  Creative Artist Grant, Arts Foundation of Michigan

1994                  Pushcart Prize (poetry)

1993-94             Visiting Member, Institute for Advanced Study, School of Social Science, Princeton, New Jersey

1993                  Faculty Recognition Award, University of Michigan

1992                  National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship

1992                  Isabel MacCaffrey Award, Spenser Society of America

1992                  Consuelo Ford Award, Poetry Society of America

1992                  Research Grant, Office of the Vice President for Research, University of Michigan

1992                  Faculty Recognition Award, University of Michigan

`  1991-94             William Wilhartz Endowed Professorship for Junior Faculty, University of Michigan

   1991-92             Mellon Fellowship, National Humanities Center, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina

1991                  Faculty Recognition Award, University of Michigan

1991                  Levinson Prize, Poetry magazine

1991                  Faculty Summer Fellowship, Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies, University of Michigan

1987                  Alden Dissertation Prize, Stanford University

1985                  National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship

1982‑84             Ingram Merrill Grant (Poetry)

1982‑83             Mabelle McLeod Lewis Fellowship (Dissertation)

1981‑82             Whiting Fellowship in the Humanities (Dissertation)

1980‑81             Gilchrist Potter Graduate Fellowship (Oberlin College Alumni Dissertation Grant)   

1980                  Clarence Urmy Award for Poetry, Stanford University

1977‑80             University Fellowship, Stanford University

1978                  Academy of American Poets Award, Stanford University

1975‑77             Teaching Assistantship, Writers Workshop, University of Iowa

1971‑72             NDEA Fellowship, Northwestern University