Columbia Games       
Napoleon - The Waterloo Campaign, 1815
Game Description
Napoleon FAQ

This is a GLG support page for this beautiful and terrific 2-3 player wargame Napoleon.  The current version of the rules set is 3.1 and it's important that you have the latest version as this is a game that has evolved over the years.

Game Description
On June 18, 1815, one of the most decisive battles in military history was fought in Belgian fields twenty miles southeast of Brussels. Within a short 100 days, Napoléon, former emperor of France, had returned from exile on the island of Elba, again seized power, quickly assembled an army, and marched to defeat the dispersed British and Prussian armies now preparing to invade France Napoléon invaded Belgium on June15th, defeated the Prussians at the Battle of Ligny on the 16th and after a day of pursuit, faced the   British and Dutch army commanded by Wellington. Aided by superb defensive tactics and the timely arrival of Prussian reinforcements, Wellington defeated the French in the great Battle of Waterloo, ending forever the military ambitions of the great Napoléon.

Game Highlights

Napoleon FAQ (September 22, 1999)

1. Cavalry Triple Fire - Do cavalry get TF on their first attack for all three instances (defending, charging from reserve to engage enemy units engaging their own Left/Center/Right, and of course charging the opponents columns)? To me the rules seem to say they get TF in all three events.

ANSWER: Yes, the cavalry get TF in all of these instances, on the first combat turn.

2. Retreat Attrition - A lone cavalry unit stands a Mons. The French push him out on turn one (must happen all the time). If the French force have no cavalry clearly he suffers no attrition. If they do have cavalry does the unit suffer a 1CV combat loss? The rules say cavalry suffer 1CV if engaged, but does this count as engaged?

ANSWER: YES. If you set up the battle on the battleboard with the British Mons cavalry in the center, the Frence cavalry can engage it on Battle Turn 1. One CV is lost if the British Cavalry retreats. You do not need to set up the battle, reduce the British Cavalry 1CV if the French have any cavalry.

3. Can I reinforce along the same road during battles that I already moved the maximum number of troops on?

ANSWER: YES. The wording would be better as: Units may reinforce during battles according to the 2/1 limit regardless of how many moved along that road in the movement phase.

4. Clarify the Road limits in varying situations.


Additional Questions:

Q. When a 1 CV unit in battle does not pass the morale check phase and is forced to retreat (disengage) and is said to make a "forced battle move" is this the only movement for this unit during its battle turn or can it then move in the following combat/movement phase?

A. Right this is the only move it gets to make. (Grant Dalgliesh)

Q. I recently (and finally) bought a copy of Napoleon (3.1 rule set).  And I need some clarification on 11.0 Supply.  What does the following mean:

"The French have no supply problems."

I see that the Allies have a potential loss of 4 units in 3 different cities.  But what about the French?  No supply?  Unlimited supply from France?

A. The French do not have to worry about supply. The Allies must defend Ghent, Brussels, and Liege as supply depots, but the French operate without supply problems (for the one week of campaign time being played). (Tom Dalgliesh).

Top of Page

Back to Index

Send comments, suggestions, and fan mail
Page Last Updated: 4/10/03