GLORY Errata and Notes


Q. The rules state that artillery units do not participate in charge attacks, and that lone artillery, or a stack of 2 artillery units, are automatically eliminated if charged. The rules also state that artillery can hold their return fire and opt instead to fire cannister (+1DR) at a charging enemy unit. What happens if a lone artillery unit that has held its return fire is charged? Is it (a) automatically eliminated, or (b) does it fire at +1, and then get automatically eliminated only if any non-disordered enemy units remain to complete the charge?

A. It can fire, and then the incoming ainfantry will eliminate the arty auto as long as they weren't routed by the reaction fire.

Q. An infantry unit firing at an infantry unit stacked with an artillery unit only affects the targeted infantry unit, not the artillery unit. Does the target artillery unit still count as having been fired on for purposes of return fire? I.e., can the artillery unit in the fired-upon stack fire return fire at the infantry unit, even though it would not have been effected by the infantry unit's original fire?

A. Yes

Q. Given a choice between retreating into an enemy ZOC or displacing a friendly unit, (a) must a disordered retreating unit retreat into an open hex in an enemy ZOC and therefore accrue an additional disorder, causing a route, or (b) can the disordered unit displace a friendly unit rather than retreating into the open ZOC hex? What if the retreating unit is routed? Can it displace a friendly unit rather than routing into an enemy ZOC hex, taking an additional disorder, and thereby being eliminated?

A. 'b', and Yes. Retreat takes path of least resistance avoiding enemy ZOC but retreating away from enemy.

Q. Is there an unused Confederate entry hex for 1st Manassas? (I don't have the map with me so I can't give you the hex number. Sorry.)

A. Could be . . . only place they enter is one the east side. Might have been left over from old version, when I brought in Hampton as a reinforcement ....

Q. In the artillery fire phase, an artillery unit stacked with an infantry unit fires on an adjacent infantry unit stacked with an artillery unit. Can the fired-on units return fire then and there? Does the return fire (a) affect the firing artillery unit, or (b) affect the non-firing infantry unit with which the firing artillery unit is stacked (as per the rules regarding firing at stacked units)?

A. Yes, and b.

Q. One of McDowell's brigades sets up on hex 1020. However, 1020 is a designated Confederate entry hex, and the rules state that enemy units cannot enter entry hexes until all relevant units have come onto the board. Which is correct?

A. 1020 does not apply until 0515, 8/29.

Q. Piggybacked artillery. Artillery units that start the turn stacked with an infantry unit can move with the infantry at the infantry rate. The rules state that p-backed arty is activated with the infantry's AM. (a) Does p-backed arty fire using the infantry's AM also? (b) If so, if a p-backed arty fires, and the infantry moves out from under it, can the arty then be activated by it's own AM later in the turn? (c) Can p-backed arty move off an infantry unit when activated by the infantry's AM? Using the arty AM?

A. Yes, yes, and yes . . .

Q. The rules state that an arty unit can only move into an enemy ZOC (I) if p-backed or (ii) if a friendly unit is already there. If (ii), is a commitment DR necessary? IF so, what range do you use if it's "unattached" arty?

A. No commitment necessary; it ain't charging.

Q. For the special Jackson one-unit AM, what committment range should be used?

A. Auto.

GLORY Errata as of 4/96

Maps: The Fire Resolution Tables, which say "13 or 14 or more", should just say "13-14". Chickamauga Map: Yes, the +1 Charge effect for Clear is correct.

A Disordered unit that suffers a Rout result is Routed . . . remaining Disordered (too).

Cav cannot retreat before combat into an enemy ZOC . . . and see the "experimental" ZOC rules attached . . .


[6.0] OPTIONAL ZONE OF CONTROL RULE: All combat units - except Disordered Artillery - have an all-around (6 hex) ZOC, which does not extend across impassable terrain (or bridges). Units may Fire/Charge only through/into Frontal hexes. 14.3.2, 2nd para, applies to Frontal Hexes, not ZOC now. (This is experimental and requires some "adaptation".)

[10.2.2] CLARIFICATION: If an infantry unit fires at an artillery + infantry stack, BOTH target units may fire back, even though the artillery is not affected by the former's fire.

[12.2] CLARIFICATION: Retrun Fire always occurs in the phase in which the original fire took place. So an infantry unit fired on by adjacent artillery returns fire in the arty fire phase.

[13.1] CLARIFICATION: An eligible unit may always charge an enemy unit in its directly frontal hex, even if it does not exert a ZOC into that hex (cf. Bridges).

[13.10] CLARIFICATION: An alone artillery unit is automatically eliminated if the charging unit is not Routed by Artillery reaction Fire. It will be eliminated if the charging unit is only Disordered.

[14.3] CLARIFICATION: Given a choice between displacing a friendly unit or retreating into an enemy ZOC, the retreating unit will always choose the former. (Survival being a very strong urge.)

[16.2] CLARIFICATION: If a command will have only one AM, player chooses which AM to use.

1st Manassas Scenario:

[ADDITION] Sherman's Brigade sets up in 4009-4010; the E 3US in 4010.

[CLARIFICATION] While the Warrenton Pike negates streams for movement, it does not do so for Charge.

[CLARIFICATION] Hex 3635 is not a CSA Entrance Hex.

2nd Manassas Scenario:

[CLARIFICATION] 5.2.1 does not apply to hex 1020 until 0515, 8/29.

[ADDITION] The Commitment rating of the Jackson Special AM unit is "Auto."

Chickamauga Scenario:

[CLARIFICATION] Cheatham's Division sets up on "Road" hexes 2539-2342; Stewart's Division on Trail hexes 3234-3135, and the Wheeler cavalry starting w/i one hex of 3329 is J. Wheeler's brigade of Forrest's division (not Wheeler's Division).

Back to Index

Page Last Updated: 06/26/96