Music of Terezin

 Brave New Works








Music for and by
the persecuted



Music for and by the persecuted :
8 pm Sunday, November 22, 1998
Britton Recital Hall
What is Terezin ?


Karen Thomas
"When Night Came..." for clarinet and piano
Micah Heilbrunne, clarinet
Greg Oh, piano

Pavel Hass
Sonata for oboe
Lorraine Duso, oboe
Jean Schneider, piano

Gideon Klein
four movements for String Quartet
Sasha Margolis, violin
Alejandra Urrutia, violin
Mahoko Eguchi, viola
Katri Ervamaa, cello

Pavel Hass
Study for Strings
Brave New Works Strings
Chris Younghoon Kim, conductor

Josef Suk
Meditations on an Old Bohemian Chorale
Brave New Works Strings
Chris Younghoon Kim, conductor

Visit this informative site for a quick overview of Terezin.

from the University of Minnesota

Article by Alex Ross

Music Written In Terezin

Chamber Music from Theresienstadt - Gideon Klein, V Ullmann

Travel account of a visit to Terezin

Interview With Dr. Thomas Mandl : Terezin Survivor

Terezin Biographies

Music in the Holocaust ard the Reich

Book Review: I Never Saw Another Butterfly

Terezin Music Organization


  Composers featured on our concert

Pavel Haas

Pavel Haas

Gideon Klein

Karen P. Thomas

Her work for Clarinet and piano, When night came..., has received performances in New York City, Pennsylvania, Seattle and at the Oregon Bach Festival. It is dedicated to the women of Bosnia-Herzegovinia.

To learn more about music from Terezin read the excellent book, "Music in Terezin 1941-1945" by Joza Karas

Book Review by Alyssa Browning

   For more information contact us at :

Brave New Works
TEL: 800-896-7340
EMAIL: Brave.New.Works@umich.edu