For more information:
 Sasha Callahan

 Boston, MA (September 29, 2004) – Kalistos Chamber Orchestra continues its third season with the Boston area premiere of Joan Tower's String Quartet No.2 In Memory with the composers own arrangement of the piece for string orchestra and also the composer as conductor of her own music.  The concert will also feature rarely heard Octet by Dmitri Shostakovich and Benjamin Britten's brilliant  Simple Symphony.

 Tickets are $20 for adults, $10 for students/ senior citizens, and are available at the door or by calling 617-393-1960.

 Kalistos Chamber Orchestra featuring guest artist Joan Tower

Benjamin Britten   Simple Symphony
Dmitri Shostakovich  Octet
Joan Tower   String Quartet No. 2 In Memory [arranged for String orchestra by the composer]

 8:00 p.m.
 Friday, November 19, 2004.

 St. Paul’s Church
 15 St. Paul Street
 Brookline, MA

 About Kalistos
 Kalistos Chamber Orchestra was formed in the winter of 2002 by a group of Boston area musicians brought together by their common love of music and a desire to contribute to the community.  These players share a willingness to bring their varied backgrounds, perspectives, and experiences together in a collaborative environment, creating an orchestra that is democratic in its artistic direction.  The group is fully rotational both musically and administratively, allowing each member an opportunity to explore a broad range of responsibilities and roles.  For more information visit